top of page

About the network

Our nationwide team aims to breed and release improved cover crop varieties by:

 

Advancing cover crop genetics using traditional breeding, marker-assisted selection, high-throughput phenotyping, genome sequencing, and multi-environment trials;

 

Engaging farmers through surveys to identify breeding targets, facilitating on-farm selection, and conducting participatory variety testing to select lines for release;

 

Multi-environment testing of advanced breeding lines at over a dozen nationwide sites (including USDA-NRCS-PMCs) to identify what varieties perform best in specific regions.

See what we do

PEOPLE

Contact us!                                                                  ccbn@cornell.edu

Cornell University - Ithaca, NY

Breeding: Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye
Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye, Winter Brassica

Project Director: Virginia Moore                                               vm377@cornell.edu

Co-Project Director: Matt Ryan                                                mrr232@cornell.edu

Network Coordinator: Solveig Hanson                                    sh2458@cornell.edu

Research Support: Ryan Crawford, Jamie Crawford, Chris Pelzer, Kristen Loria

Students: Raksha Thapa, Erika Everest

Past Contributor: Jenyne Loarca

USDA-ARS Beltsville Agricultural Research - Beltsville, MD

Breeding: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye
Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye

Co-Project Director: Steven Mirsky                                          Steven.Mirsky@usda.gov

Research Support: Ruth Mangum, Allen Burke

Past Contributor: Jude Maul

North Carolina State University - Raleigh, NC

Breeding: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye
Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Cereal Rye, Winter Brassica

Co-Project Director: Chris Reberg-Horton                              screberg@ncsu.edu

Co-Project Director: Ramon Leon Gonzalez                           rleon@ncsu.edu

Co-Project Director: J. Paul Murphy                                        paul_murphy@ncsu.edu

Research Support: Alyssa Woodard, Esleyther Henriquez

Past Contributors: Lais Bastos Martins, Sarah Seehaver Eagen, Democ Rebong

University of Georgia - Athens, GA

Breeding: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch

Research Lead: Jessica Barb                                                       jessica.barb@uga.edu

USDA-ARS Dairy Forage Research - Madison, WI

Breeding: Hairy Vetch
Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Winter Brassica

Co-Project Director: Heathcliffe Riday                                     Heathcliffe.Riday@usda.gov

Hairy Vetch Lead: Lisa Kissing Kucek                                       Lisa.Kucek@usda.gov

Research Support: Neal Tilhou

Past Contributor: Elizabeth Matejczyk

University of Minnesota - St. Paul, MN

Breeding: Hairy Vetch, Cereal Rye
Trials: Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea

Co-Project Director: Nancy Ehlke                                             nancy@umn.edu

Co-Project Director: Robert Stupar                                          stup0004@umn.edu

Research Support: Steven Mulkey

Past Contributors: Adria Fernandez, Nick Wiering

Kansas State University - Manhattan, KS

Breeding: Winter Brassica
Trials: Winter Brassica
                                     

Research Lead: Mike Stamm                                                      mjstamm@ksu.edu

North Dakota State University - Carrington, ND

Breeding: Winter Pea
Trials: Winter Pea
                                     

Research Lead: Mike Ostlie                                                      mike.ostlie@ndsu.edu 

Past Co-Project Director: Steve Zwinger   

USDA-ARS Grain Legume Genetics Physiology Research - Pullman, WA

Breeding and Seed Increase: Winter Pea

Co-Project Director: Rebecca McGee                                     rebecca.mcgee@usda.gov

USDA-NRCS Jimmy Carter Plant Materials Center - Americus, GA

Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Winter Brassica

Research Lead: Nicholas McGhee                                           nicholas.mcghee@ga.usda.gov

Auburn University - Auburn, AL

Trials: Crimson Clover

Research Lead: Marnin Wolfe                                                   mdw0092@auburn.edu

University of Missouri - Columbia, MO

Trials: Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Winter Brassica

Project Director: Rob Myers                                                      myersrob@missouri.edu

Research Lead: Kerry Clark                                                       ClarkK@missouri.edu

Natl Cover Crop Variety Dev. Project Mgr: Mollie Herget     m.herget@missouri.edu

Student: Joey Meinert

Past Contributor: Kimberly Griffin

USDA-ARS Livestock, Forage, and Pasture Management - El Reno, OK

Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea, Winter Brassica

Research Lead: Travis Witt                                                         travis.witt@usda.gov

Texas A&M University - College Station, TX

Trials: Crimson Clover

Research Lead: Gerald Smith                                                   Gerald.Smith@ag.tamu.edu

USDA-NRCS Smith Plant Materials Center - Knox City, TX

Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch

Research Lead: Brandon Carr                                                   brandon.carr@usda.gov

Past Contributor: Dustin Wiggans

USDA-ARS Northern Great Plains Research - Mandan, ND

Trials 

Research Lead: John Hendrickson                                           john.hendrickson@usda.gov

Research Lead: David Archer                                     

Research Support: Holly Johnson

USDA-NRCS Pullman Plant Materials Center - Pullman, WA

Trials: Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea

Research Lead: Steven Lee                                                       steven.lee2@usda.gov                                  

Past Contributor: Jessica Wayment

USDA-NRCS Great Basin Plant Materials Center - Fallon, NV

Trials 

Research Lead: Chris Bernau                                                   Christopher.Bernau@usda.gov                                 

USDA-NRCS Lockeford Plant Materials Center - Lockeford, CA

Trials

Research Lead: Margaret Smither-Kopperl                            Margaret.Smither-Kopperl@usda.gov                             

USDA-NRCS Corvallis Plant Materials Center - Corvallis, OR

Trials: Crimson Clover, Hairy Vetch

Research Lead: Amy Bartow                                                     amy.bartow@usda.gov                           

Research Support: Ian Silvernail

University of Alaska - Fairbanks, AK

Trials: Hairy Vetch, Winter Pea

Research Lead: Mingchu Zhang                                               mzhang3@alaska.edu                           

USDA-NRCS Elsberry Plant Materials Center - Elsberry, MO

Seed Increase

Research Lead: Ron Cordsiemon                                             Ron.Cordsiemon@usda.gov                             

USDA-NRCS Aberdeen Plant Materials Center - Aberdeen, ID

Seed Increase

Research Lead: Derek Tilley                                                      Derek.Tilley@usda.gov                             

USDA-NPGS Temperate Forage Legume Genetic Research - Prosser, WA

Seed Production Trials & Seed Increase

Research Lead: Brian Irish                                                         brian.irish@usda.gov

USDA-NRCS Plant Materials Center Administrators

Trials & Seed Increase

National Program Leader: John Englert                                  John.Englert@usda.gov

Eastern Region Plant Materials Specialist: Allen Casey         allen.casey@usda.gov

Central Region Plant Materials Specialist: Joel Douglas       Joel.Douglas@usda.gov

West Region Plant Materials Specialist: Heather Dial            Heather.Dial@usda.gov

Farmer-Breeders

Mark Doudlah - Evansville, WI

Wendy Johnson - Charles City, IA

Jonathon Moser - Mandan, ND

Theresa and Dan Podoll - Fullerton, ND

Steve Zwinger - Carrington, ND

On-Farm Variety Trials

     Nico Enjalbert                                                                                SeedLinked

bottom of page